Wednesday , 23 May 2018
Breaking News

Justice Khan to head SAC, Justice Singh and Kirmani to be its members


Srinagar, September 23:

Governor NN Vohra, appointed Justice (Retd) Bashir Ahmed Khan as Chairperson of State Accountability Commission (SAC) and also appointed Justice (Retd) J.P. Singh and Justice (Retd) B.A. Kirmani as its members.

The governor appointed them while exercising powers vested in him under Section 4 of the Jammu and Kashmir Accountability Commission Act, 2002.

The members were appointed for five years with effect from the date they assume charge of their office or until they attain the age of seventy five years, whichever is earlier.

The Governor signed two separate Warrants of Appointments to this effect today on the recommendations made by the Selection Committee constituted for the purpose.

Earlier a Division Bench comprising Chief Justice, N Paul Vasanthakumar and Justice Hasnain Massodi had entertained a Public Interest Litigation (PIL) earlier this month seeking appointment of members and chairpersons to State Human Rights Commission (SHRC) and SAC and had asked government to constitute State Human Rights Commission (SHRC) within four weeks.

Government through Advocate General, Jehangir Iqbal had submitted before the Court that the Committee has been constituted for the appointment of Chairperson of SAC which is scheduled to be held on 17th of September and immediately after that, the process for appointment of Chairperson and members for SHRC will be started.